New York: Day 1

For my first full day in New York I decided to start it with one of the major ‘must-see’ aces- Central Park. Central Park is a massive (major understatement) park which is located in the middle of the city. Outside the park you will find lots of people trying to get you to hire bikes. I chose not too and instead walk. I knew as soon as I stepped foot into the park that there was no way I’d be able to walk the whole park and see everything in one go, second guessing my decision not to hire a bike I carried on. 
  I walked through Strawberry Fields- the place where John Lennon found inspiration to write the song. The Alice in Wonderland statues, I found a little fair bit with rides and somehow missed the zoo. The park also contains a pool which is free to users and much more. I spent probably 3 hours here and could have easily spent the entire day wandering round and relaxing there.

In the afternoon I made my way out to the Staten Island Ferry. This is a great way to see the Statue of Liberty without having to pay the price. The official ferry that takes you there I believe costs $6 one way per person and you can only stand at the bottom of Lady Liberty. The Staten Island Ferry is free and you don’t necessarily get as close but still have a wonderful view and some great pics!

  
I’d already had the heads up that Lady Liberty isn’t as big as people think or the pictures depict. Intact she is quite small for what you’d probably expect. Seeing the famous statue and what she represents was great.

For dinner I headed to Chinatown hoping to find a great stirfry or noodle dish. The place I chose to eat at was pretty cheap with dishes starting at around $8. I chose the chicken Lo Mein, the food was hot and fresh it lacked a bit of flavour. Once I had finished there I made my way back to the apartment to chill out and plan my next few days ahead!

Leave a Reply

